Siesta

Most afternoons I take a siesta. Lying on the bed with the kids surrounding me I am always aware if the space.  I rarely sleep but the horizontality helps my sometimes achy old body. This afternoon was no different from others, except the almost total silence in which the village (barrio) spent the early afternoon hours.

+++++++++++++++++++++
*****************

Sunny afternoon siesta
The ‘village’ at peace
Beside me two dogs gently snoring
My head full

Memories of you, us.
No chance of sleep.
I listen to the quietness around
And remember our afternoon ‘liaisons’.

A smile touches my lips
as a tear rolls down my cheek,
bittersweet as always
my love is forever.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary

Let me know what you think.

