IN YOUR DRAWER

Louise was going frantic. She hadn’t had a great day at work and now here she was at home it was missing. Within the last hour, since walking through the door, she had been turning the place upside down, searching.

“It has to be here,” Louise was near to tears. “It has to be here, somewhere. I wish my head wasn’t such a mess, then I’d remember where I’d put it.”

“What on earth are you looking for, child?” Her aunt came into the room. They had been sharing the apartment for the last two months, without incident, although Louise could win the prize for the most disorganised person in the world.

“My lucky charm,” Louise answered as she dug down the back of the sofa for the third time. “I suddenly realised I didn’t have it at work, that’s when everything started going wrong. If I don’t find it things will never get back to normal.”

“You and that charm,” Aunty almost chuckled, but knew it would upset Louise so held herself back. “Are you talking about that silver four-leaf clover thing you usually have round your neck on a chain?”

“Of course,” Louise replied. “Granny Marlene gave it to me on her deathbed, and she told me never to let it go. She said it would be my good luck charm…”

“You are so superstitious, child.” Aunty said as she sat in the armchair watching Louise ransacking one of the living room cupboard.  “You make your own luck, child. Whether you have that silly old charm or not you can be lucky.”

“But it makes me feel lucky. That’s the important thing. And it was Granny Marlene who gave it to me.” Louise had stopped searching and was standing with her hands on her hips staring at Aunty May.

“So when did you last have it, child?” Aunty May asked. “If you think logically  and say a prayer to Saint Anthony I’m certain it’ll turn up.”

“Pray to Saint Anthony?” Louise was still staring at Aunty May and had stuck her head out almost aggressively.

“He’s the patron Saint of lost things. If you pray to him things turn up.”

“Well you pray and I’ll search.” Louise turned back to the cupboard.

“And when would you have put it in that cupboard?” Aunty May asked. “Think logically. When did you last have it. Do you take it off when you shower?”

“Ah of course. I bet it’s in the bathroom.” Louise was off at a run to check in the bathroom. Within a few moments she was back. “Nope not there, but that’s just where i would have left it when I showered this morning.”

“So you didn’t pick it up and take it back to your bedroom to put it on when you got dressed?” Aunty May was showing her the logical progression to find the charm.

“Of course I did, I always do that. You should be a detective, Aunty May.” Louise rushed into her bedroom but was back in the living room soon telling her Aunt that it wasn’t there.

“Well I’ve just prayed to Saint Anthony an I bet if you look in your drawer, the top drawer of your chest f drawers where you keep you important things you’ll find it.” Aunty May said.

Louise rushed back to her bedroom and came back beaming. She had found her charm and the chain and was putting it back around her neck. “You were right Aunty May. You are amazing, you and your Saint Anthony. How on earth do you do that?”

“Louise, it’s easy. First you just need to be a bit organised and you’ll not lose things so often. Secondly you lost this charm the day after you’d moved in here and it was in exactly the same place, exactly the same story. You, child, are probably the least organised person in the world with possibly the worst memory. Come on now let’s get some dinner on the go…”

25 - in your drawer

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary, humour

Let me know what you think.

